2018 WHS Prize Giving Ceremony

We recently held our annual Prize Giving ceremony which recognises the academic achievements of our senior school pupils. This year we were delighted to have former Wick High School English teacher Mrs Ishbel McBoyle as guest speaker. Mrs McBoyle, a ‘weel-kent’ face in the local community is soon to move with her husband to Inverness after many years of life in Wick and was asked to speak about her marvellous career in teaching and to pass on a wealth of advice to the youngsters assembled in the school hall.

The ceremony culminated in the most prestigious award in the school; that of The Dux of the school which this year was awarded to Clarabelle Martins with Isla Miller and Charlie Taylor being jointly awarded Proxime Accessit to The Dux.

Other notable winners included Jay Barrett (Winner of The Subsea 7 Prize for best performance in S4 Technical subjects); Owen Mathieson (Winner of The Kevin Costello Memorial Prize for endeavour in Science) and Erin Anderson (Winner of The David Lockie Memorial Prize for Technical subjects).

Congratulations to all the prize winners and many thanks to Mrs McBoyle for her superb speech.